• Toll Free : 800 4734

NEBOSH International Diploma

The NEBOSH International Diploma for Occupational Health and Safety Management Professionals is a replacement qualification for the NEBOSH International Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety. The NEBOSH International Diploma is the qualification for aspiring health and safety professionals, building directly upon the foundation of knowledge provided by the NEBOSH International General Certificate. It is designed to provide you with the knowledge and understanding required for undertaking a career as a health and safety professional and it also provides a sound basis for progression to postgraduate study. The International Diploma is recognised and reliable and approximately 3,000 learners have achieved the qualification since its introduction.

It provides the core health and safety knowledge which, combined with understanding and appropriate application, underpins the competent performance of an Occupational Health and Safety Practitioner.

On completion of the qualification, you will be able to:

  • Advise on the types of legislation likely to apply, the relevance of ILO and non-government bodies’ guidance and possible enforcement actions
  • Identify and effectively communicate relevant health and safety information
  • Advise on a range of common workplace health and safety issues including how these can be assessed, controlled and monitored
  • Develop a health and safety policy strategy (including proactive safety, Corporate Social Responsibility and the change management process)
  • Length of Course:
    The qualification requires a minimum of 185 taught hours plus 144 recommended self-study hours and 140 assessment hours

    Entry Requirements:
    There are no mandatory qualification entry requirements but it is strongly recommended learners have undertaken the NEBOSH General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety. The syllabus assumes that learners will have this level of prior learning.
    It is important that learners have a suitable standard of English language in order to understand and articulate the concepts contained in the syllabus. NEBOSH recommends that learners undertaking this qualification should reach a minimum standard of English equivalent to an International English Language Testing System (IELTS) score of 7.0 or higher in IELTS tests.

    Professional Recognition and SQA Accreditation
    Professional body recognition:
    We anticipate that this qualification, like its forerunners, will meet the academic requirements to apply for membership of many professional bodies including the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH) and the International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM). SQA Accreditation:
    The NEBOSH International Diploma for Occupational Health and Safety Management Professionals has been accredited and credit rated by the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA) Accreditation at SCQF Level 10 with 48 SCQF credit points . SCQF Level 10 is comparable to RQF/CQFW Level 6 in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

    The qualification is divided into 3 units, each of which is assessed separately. Learners must complete and pass the following assessments

    The assessments focus on the application of knowledge to help you prepare for the health and safety tasks faced in the workplace.
    Assessment Format
    The qualification units are assessed in the following way:

    • Unit ID 1 : Know – workplace health and safety principles (Assignment in four parts - simulations, workplace based activities, reflective tasks and a research project)
    • Unit ID 3 : Do – controlling workplace health issues (International).Scenario-based case study
    • Unit ID 4 : Do – controlling workplace safety issues (International).Scenario-based case study
    • Students may choose to take individual units in any order over a five year period.
    Each assessment is a substantial undertaking. We anticipate that it will take you around 60 hours to complete the ID1 assignment and 40 hours each for the ID2 and ID3 case studies. The time-period given for you to complete each assessment reflects this:
    Unit ID1: 6 weeks (30 working days)
    Unit ID2: 4 weeks (20 working days)
    Unit ID3: 4 weeks (20 working days)

    Assessment Results
    You will receive your results 50 working days after the submission date for your assessment. A unit certificate will be issued 20 working days after the notification date for each successful unit. Once you have passed all three unit assessments (ID1/ID2/ID3) your combined percentage mark will give your overall grade for the qualification (Distinction/Credit/Pass).
    Distinction : 226 or higher
    Credit : 196 – 225
    Pass : 150 – 195

    Designatory letters and professional membership
    Holders of the NEBOSH International Diploma for Occupational Health and Safety Management Professionals may use the designatory letters ‘IDipNEBOSH’ after their name.